Couple of blender questions.

Couple of blender questions.

Postby callum112233 » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:58 pm

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to blender. I can make a decent untextured model but that's about as far as I get. Now, a couple of questions if I may:

1. Can you get a 3D model straight from blender into the sim without having to use any other software? I dislike 3DCrafter, that's why I decided to give blender a go.

2. Is it possible to do all the texturing exclusively in blender?

That's all I can think of at the moment. It's the texturing aspect that i'm having trouble with at the moment.

Thanks.
Callum.
callum112233
Full Time Fireman

Re: Couple of blender questions.

Postby malkymackay » Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:28 pm

As long as you have the appropriate exporter plugin for your version of Blender, you can create .igs and .ia files ready for the Blueprint Editor without any further software.

As for textures, I haven't really thought about using Blender to the exclusion of any other software, as I've been using GIMP or Photoshop for over a decade and I'm happy using them when I want to work with multiple layers and/or channels.
malkymackay
Full Time Fireman

Postby AndiS » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:43 pm

To get the model into the game, you need Dom's exporter. It is as straightforward as it gets. But a quick look into the manual is always needed.

The game will crash if there are untextured faces, so there is a certain minimum of texturing needed. Also the material must be set up. Regarding the material, see Dom's manual.

Regarding unwrapping, this is the minimum you need to do:

1) In edit mode, select all faces and press u for unwrap, then reset.

2) Create a squared image of any solid colour. E.g., take a screenshot of anything blue or black or whatever on your screen and crop that to 16x16 pixels. Save as TGA and convert to ACE, using RWAcetool.