Platform Halt advice

Platform Halt advice

Postby Auscgu » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:38 am

Venturing into a bigger project and would like so advice and how to tackle the Platform Halt
I am still new to the Blender Train Simulator process and have created the cube as my first project
The moved onto some signs with raised letters
Having achieved the basic process now for bigger projects
Alphington Halt.jpg

Ide Halt.jpg

The Timber Platform Halt was a common sight and my next project
This may be way to advanced for my current skills but you have to try
I am happy to step back to a simple building to get the skills

I find Blender difficult to master the pixel to dimension process
I have the dimension option on but find this is not always correct
Using planes of known sizes you can trace to resolve some of these issues
Any advice to help with the basic dimension issue would be appreciated

I have and engineering background so modelling to size has always been my work flow
For the platform I have Turbocad which is similar to Autocad
Turbocad has 3DS export and Blender can import 3DS files
The process I am exploring is to support the Blender model with Turbocad models to trace
I have achieved the import but with a scale issue
This is an easy fix and I should have check that before
You get carried away with the model
Alphington Platform 01.jpg

The platform had many common components
The platform deck is timber and in panels from support leg to support leg
For textures smaller panels will work better
To save faces and deck will have 3 faces only to texture

The support legs
Can be modelled as a single item to reduce faces but will be difficult to wrap and texture
The other way is to leave the components separate and remove all unseen faces
This should be easier to texture

The wire in the handrail
6 or 8 faces with smooth modifier
All the wires are the same apart from being mirror image

The entire platform is mirror so can set up the blender model as a mirror