Texturing problems

Texturing problems

Postby Llew Bach » Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:39 pm

Hi Everyone

This is my first post on this great new site! I've built many models for my own Railworks routes and whilst they all vary in build quality I'm quite pleased with them. Although I've been building stuff for a few years now I still can't master the art of texturing. I gave up on trying to understand texture unwrapping some time ago and now only use the fill tool and/or paint brush. This is hit and miss for me though! This afternoon I decided to use Bridge Engineer to build a two arched bridge for one of the stations on my route. I made the shape I wanted without any problem and I created a texture which included a stone arch - all ok so far! I managed to texture one side of the bridge using the paint brush and then the "operation adjust" tool but when I did the same with the other opposite side of the bridge the texturing I made on first side then became distorted. This happens quite often so I usually end up making a model with say 4 sides with 4 cubes (as walls) rather than one. It's not so easy though with a bridge because of the arches and I've had to give up on this one for the moment. If I don't need to use the "operation adjust" tool on a particular model then there does not appear to be a problem.

I've tried various settings (add faces to the back side, different co-ordinates, render double sided) but all to no avail. I've tried to research this problem many times but without success so I'm now kindly seeking your help please in finding a solution. I'm using Canvas Pro version 9.2.2 build 1546. Could that be the problem I wonder?

Thanks

Llew
Llew Bach
Engine Cleaner

Re: Texturing problems

Postby briyeo » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:38 am