How best to determine the right rolling stock?

For all other chatting you want to do and that does not fit in another forum you can use this one.

How best to determine the right rolling stock?

Postby Rockdoc2174 » Sat May 24, 2014 7:25 pm

I've put this here rather than in a TS014-specific area as I would think this topic could be of interest to all scenario authors.

Is there an obvious place to discover the correct rolling stock for a scenario? I suppose I'm really talking about modern settings but let me explain: I've been working on a scenario for the West Coast Main Line over Shap route from Preston to Carlisle. I can get the times for the trains easily enough but I don't live anywhere near the line so I have no first-hand knowledge of which operators run which services and what stock is used. I did some searching on YouTube and Googled for images of various spots. I did find some information but it seemed rather hit and miss and it left me feeling I hadn't got properly to the bottom of it all.

What do others do?

Keith
Rockdoc2174
Driver

Re: How best to determine the right rolling stock?

Postby DPSimulation » Sat May 24, 2014 7:57 pm

Taking WCML Over Shap as the example and using http://realtimetrains.co.uk// with it's detailed search, that should get you started on Virgin services at least which are denoted as 'VT'. For instance, looking at the timetable for Carlisle on Tuesday, 1M08 is pathed as a Class 390 EMU, so that one is self explanatory. A bit later on I look at 1S39 and that is pathed as a DMU, so it should be a Voyager.

If you then have Northern Rail services, denoted as 'NT', these are can be trickier, as 2C42 for instance is 'Pathed as Class 150/153/155/156'. In this case, I would then have a Google search of the headcode if unsure, to see which type of unit has been photographed on that service.