Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby Auscgu » Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:20 pm

I have worked through the Andis Reference and User Manuals looking for a solution for Repeating Signals.
Having tried a few option with no success I though sharing this would be interesting.

The Reference Manual shows a list of code core but is not a complete list
I found FP Splitting Banner Repeater.out which may be used for Banner signals

8.2 Reference to code core
This line starts with require and gives the path relative to the folder in which Railworks.exe is installed. The following files are referenced for the various types of signals (only one in each script):
FP Universal Semaphore.out Semaphore stop signals including independent disks
FP CLS Stop Signal.out CLS stop signals
FP Semaphore Distant Script.out Semaphore distants
FP CLS Distant.out CLS distants
FP Facing Disks.out Dependent disks and their light signal equivalents
FP External Disk.out Collocated disks
FP External PLS.out Position light call-on heads
FP External Node-based Indicator.out Indicators working by lighting nodes in their shape
FP External Text-based Indicator.out Indicators using a Texture Set

In the G Table we use some of the values below
Refer Reference Manual 8.4.1 Semaphore stop signals

8.4.1 Semaphore stop signals

The list of possible values for the second dimension is expanded from the default as follows.
ARM_HOME stop arm
ARM_COACT co-acting arm or ballast weight or whatever
ARM_CALLON call-on or shunt-on arm
ARM_WARNING warning arm (for warning arrangement)
ARM_DIST1 the distant arm for doll 1 ahead
ARM_DIST2 the same for the second doll ahead
ARM_DIST3 to ARM_DIST5 for distant arms 3 to 5
ARM_DISTANT equals ARM_DIST1 for backward compatibility

I am curious about the ARM_WARNING function and would this be appropriate for use with Repeating signals
The rest we use on a regular basis

What is the correct way to configure the Repeating signals with Andis scripts?

What is the intended function of ARM_WARNING?

I am using both J Yelland and A Brailsford Assets which is based on M Brinton arm naming format
Auscgu
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 133
Images: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby AndiS » Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:55 am

ARM_WARNING is for a small arm to facilitate the Warning Arrangement whereby a train is admitted into a block where the overlap at the end is not clear.

For repeaters, try inner distants. I confess to have some half-done repeater script somewhere. Completing it stalled 2 or 3 times over the years. It must soon be 12 months since I last fired up RW alias Train Simulator. This is mostly the fault of my job, but also the fact that you built up tons of complex work-arounds to compensate for design flaws. Taking this energy to UE4 sounds like the future, but we all know that we know nothing about that future. So I did look back into RW but that petered out last winter or so.
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 308 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby Auscgu » Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:50 am

Andis
I have found a solution to the Keyham and Devonport Albert Road repeater signals

The Keyham signal made no scene as a home repeat.
I had another look at the signal diagram and believe we have a unique 3ft goods arm distant signal.
As a distant signal that only clears for the Dn Home Main signal 57 then this is logical and easy to implement.
I have tried to find a picture to confirm but nothing as yet.

The Devonport Dock to Keyham Jct signal has been configured as arm 1, siding 2 and reverse to the Up Main 3

4601

The Distant 57R has been coded to clear for route 1

4602

The distant signal needs a 3ft goods arm distant signal made but this is a work in progress
Auscgu
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 133
Images: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby Auscgu » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:03 am

The Devonport Albert Road repeat signal was a lot more challenging.
I tried to get the distant to code as you suggested but could never get it to work correctly.

I was making a CoAct arm for several locations on the route and got to thinking about the Albert Rd signal.
The solution was to create a custom signal for Albert Rd Home signal with a CoAct Distant arm for the Repeater.
The signal has a Home arm and a offset CoAct arm moved and rotated to the correct location for the Repeater.

The Home Arm on the bracket at Devonport Albert Road

4604

The CoAct arm with a scenic post for the Repeater

4605

The Keyham Distant Signal

4603

This is a simple solution which works every time and you have no coding issues as its a standard Home Distant arrangement.
Auscgu
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 133
Images: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby AndiS » Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:02 pm

Great.
But I don't get the bit about the co-acting arm. Do you displace it by putting in a big value as the child offset, in the matrix in the blueprint?
Or had I created external co-acting arms and afterwards forgotten all about it?
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 308 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby Auscgu » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:37 am

Andis,
Child object with a big value Matrix offset as a CoAct arm for the home signal.
The arm replicates exactly what would happen in reality and the bonus is the works
The offset is -200m in the Y with 25m in the X to suit the curved track on approach to the home arm.
You now only have a home signal with a standard distant signal to code.
The repeat arm is just an offset home arm with a distant arm as the visual.
I though it was destined to fail as the matrix would loose the plot with a negative value.
But always worth a try.
The hardest part was getting the rotation set.
I was using radians and changed it to degrees but it was still working in radians.
Spent quite a while trying to sort this.
Final though I would do a rotation and confirm the values with the known rotations that I had for the Matrix article I posted.
Work out it was still in radians. Sorted the rotation in degrees.
That was my developer fail. LOL
Auscgu
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 133
Images: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby AndiS » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:53 pm

Alright, now that is a case of perseverance then. 8-)

I thought it must be a pain to get the rotation.
In case anyone follows this method, I would first try to get the rotation approximately right and then play with the X value to get the arm to the post.
In case you feel like rotating the child, I guess (with a little help from Wikipedia) that these are the values that need to be set:
Element 1: cos
Element 2: -sin
Element 5: sin
Element 6: cos

But I never tried that. Could well be that the arm gets rotated first and shifted afterwards. But then again, you just adapt X after that and finally put the post where the arm ended up. :lol:
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 308 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby Auscgu » Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:01 am

Andis,
I have posted a Matrix Guide in the Reference Material section.
http://www.trainsimdev.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=902
The document has a link to the Matrix rotation converter.
Just ensure you select Degrees as Radians are the default value.
To ensure you have the correct conversion do a documented rotation first and compare the values.
Once your sure its in degrees the rest is easy.
Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 133
Images: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Home, Distant, Banner Repeater Signals with Andis Script

Postby AndiS » Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:10 am

I must have been on holiday back then. :shock:

My mistake: The up axis is Y, not Z, in the game, as I assumed.

Certainly good to have such a converter at hand.
The problem with this stuff is that there are so many conventions that in more complex cases, I always go nuts. But luckily, we mostly need simple stuff, so most of the time it works out right.
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 308 times


Return to Route Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron