3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby acorncomputer » Sun Aug 03, 2014 8:31 pm

Hi Vern

I can get 3D Canvas 7 working in Win 7 64 bit - a bit wobbly but usually stays running long enough to cobble together simple items.

I use Canvas regularly and extensively on W7 64 bit and it is always rock steady, fast and accurate and I still use it in preference to Crafter as at the moment as I think it is a more practical program despite its age. Hopefully, Crafter will eventually be developed into a much more stable offering than it is at the moment.

It seems that there is no single answer here, with differing experiences from people using the same software, and the thought of having to re-install Windows to solve a problem seems absurd although that is apparently the ultimate solution in some cases.

-
Geoff Potter - Doing Something
User avatar
acorncomputer
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:26 pm
Location: Horley, Surrey ... still under the stairs
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Pauls » Tue Aug 05, 2014 4:56 pm

Hi Jim, Geoff,

Thanks for your help with this.......... I'm nervous of a Windows re-install and will reserve it for a last attempt - but I am going to look at the registry solution - after backing up my data and the registry of course ! :) - I'll let you know how I get on - if you don't hear from me again you will know that it went badly !! :lol: :lol:

Cheers
Paul
Pauls
Driver
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:38 am
Has thanked: 460 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Nobkins » Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:12 pm

Fingers crossed then!
TrainSimDev.com YouTube Channel
Video tutorials and other resources
User avatar
Nobkins
Site Admin
 
Posts: 544
Images: 3164
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:24 am
Has thanked: 325 times
Been thanked: 185 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Pauls » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:00 pm

Hi Jim,

Sadly didn't work, but I'm still here - I just changed the registry entries as suggested in the link - there were many entries with the key in question - all but one had two entries though, showing vbscript.dll in the windows syswow64 folder and the system32 folder - I added this entry under the name Default Engine REG_SZ as with all the other instances of the vbscript key mentioned.

Looks like I might have to do a Windows 7 repair as per your other link ? - I'll have to be careful though because its SP1 and not the original disc.

BTW - what do you have under your wscript.exe keys in your registry ? - mine shows (Default) REG_SZ "Value Not Set" and NoOpenWith REG_SZ blank


Would this be useful to repair my Windows 7 64 Bit system ? ...........

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Windows-7-Seven-HOME-Premium-Professional-Ultimate-SP1-DVD-Repair-Recovery-64-/271569145810?pt=UK_Computing_Software_Software_SR&hash=item3f3ac84fd2

The repair disc I did years ago is pre Sp1.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/6/2014, 16:45:07
Machine name: xxxxxx
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 02/24/10 14:05:48 Ver: 08.00.15
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 6144MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 6136MB RAM
Page File: 3160MB used, 9107MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode


Cheers
Paul
Pauls
Driver
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:38 am
Has thanked: 460 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Nobkins » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:30 pm

I can't check reg settings at the moment as I am away. Not sure about the disc as not done any reinstalls for a while. Hopefully someone else can advise.
TrainSimDev.com YouTube Channel
Video tutorials and other resources
User avatar
Nobkins
Site Admin
 
Posts: 544
Images: 3164
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:24 am
Has thanked: 325 times
Been thanked: 185 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Pauls » Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:39 pm

Hi Jim,

I tried all the suggestions in the links you gave me. In the final attempt my Windows 7 Upgrade failed . Scannow indicates problems that it can't fix. It looks like only a disk format and fresh install of Windows 7 will work now ?

Cheers
Paul
Pauls
Driver
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:38 am
Has thanked: 460 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: 3D Canvas 7 Not working on Windows 7 Computer - Script Host Problem ?

Postby Nobkins » Sat Aug 09, 2014 7:20 am

Very sorry to hear that Paul. The positive is that at least you should have a nice running system afterwards.
TrainSimDev.com YouTube Channel
Video tutorials and other resources
User avatar
Nobkins
Site Admin
 
Posts: 544
Images: 3164
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:24 am
Has thanked: 325 times
Been thanked: 185 times

Previous

Return to 3DCrafter

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests