INT DIVIDE BY ZERO Error

Discuss anything related to Train Simulator from DoveTail that does not fit in one of the more specific categories.

INT DIVIDE BY ZERO Error

Postby SteveP_trains » Tue Sep 01, 2020 2:19 pm

Just wondering whether anyone has any further ideas as to what causes this error to occur occasionally when running a Scenario?

The feedback I have gathered about it so far is .............

1) I am able to workaround this sometimes by entering the scenario via the Build menu option and then clicking the Play button

2) A web solution suggests that this occurs because there are too many routes in the system so disabling ones that are not used frequently may help.

3) Also, doing a "Local File Verification" procedure from your STEAM account on TS may help if it finds a corrupt file and downloads it again for you. - this one worked for me for a while!

4) I’ve also found that disabling your internet connection while starting TS2020 seems to prevent the Divide By Zero error sometimes.

It's very frustrating to get the inconsistent error and so difficult to come up with any reliable solution.
Any thoughts would be welcome.

Regards

Steve
SteveP_trains
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 44
Images: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: INT DIVIDE BY ZERO Error

Postby AndiS » Wed Sep 02, 2020 7:07 am

SteveP_trains wrote:1) I am able to workaround this sometimes by entering the scenario via the Build menu option and then clicking the Play button

If you see the same problem in the same place in the same scenario more than once then you should contact the scenario author. If that fails or is a disappointing experience, put the author on your private list of sources to avoid.

SteveP_trains wrote:2) A web solution suggests that this occurs because there are too many routes in the system so disabling ones that are not used frequently may help.

I have seen quite a few posts by people who do that. It will depend on the size of your collection and your usage habits. Basically I can only recommend getting rid of stuff you don't need if it can be revoked. Some people say that your computer resources (memory of all sorts) can get exhausted but what is more all your verification routines will run extra long on useless files.

SteveP_trains wrote:3) Also, doing a "Local File Verification" procedure from your STEAM account on TS may help if it finds a corrupt file and downloads it again for you. - this one worked for me for a while!

In this case, you need to observe when it stops working for you and for which files. It is quite logical that it does not fix new downloads before the first verification.

SteveP_trains wrote:4) I’ve also found that disabling your internet connection while starting TS2020 seems to prevent the Divide By Zero error sometimes.

I can only recommend to play offline. Whenever you go online, repeat the verification that worked for you after you went offline again. I have no idea of the details of the inner workings of the Steam client and TSxxxx but obviously stuff gets updated in the background which is a good thing unless there is some bad content in the stream that you just fixed.

SteveP_trains wrote:It's very frustrating to get the inconsistent error and so difficult to come up with any reliable solution.
Any thoughts would be welcome.

As sketched above, you need to narrow it down. DTG do a bit to help by improving these verification routines (I suppose) but such checks are always a bit behind the errors that crop up, at least in real life software.
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 306 times

Re: INT DIVIDE BY ZERO Error

Postby SteveP_trains » Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:05 pm

Thanks Andy - I am the route/scenario author - so I can genuinely say the experience was pleasurable :D

Joking aside, the error is not consistent in any of the scenarios and not at any specific positions so I can't do much about fixing things. Some people have errors and others don't so there must be a config or environment issue that seems to trigger things.

I was just reaching out to see if anyone had any more feedback or ideas over and above what I had discovered.

Thanks anyway

Regards
Steve
SteveP_trains
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 44
Images: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times


Return to Train Simulator Mess Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron