3d Track

3d Track

Postby gougha » Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:20 pm

Hi.

Need a bit of guidance on what Im doing wrong. I decided to have a play at building my own narrow gauge track with 3d sleepers. I built the track without issue (although I haven't had a look at doing points yet). I built the sleeper without a problem and added it to the track as "middle geometry".


It displays the sleeper but the normal on every other sleeper seems to be inverted.

4468


Cant seem to find any reference to it on google so any track developers out there with some knowledge would be good.

Regards

Andy
Last edited by gougha on Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gougha
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 72
Images: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:24 am
Location: Rotherham
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby Auscgu » Sat Jun 23, 2018 6:59 am

gougha

I was just looking at trackwork yesterday and checking out the dev docs on trackwork
Not sure what track gauge your looking

UKTS_34888_NG30lbTracks_v7
track Gauge is 2' 3"
Good reference source to check your method against

UKTS_18519_2ft_3in_NG_Bullhead_Track_(kngtrains)
UKTS_19011_2ft_Narrow_Gauge_Track_(kngtrains)
kngtrains 2' track gauge for reference

Have a look at 4.05 How To Create Track.pdf in Dev Docs

Shows you the track cap required for crossings
I a far as I am aware your crossing are still based on a 2D work flow

I sure someone with more experience can sort out the loft issue
worth just rechecking your method as you say the sleeper fine for one but inverted for the next

Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 49
Images: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby gougha » Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:54 pm

Hi.


Thanks for the reply.

I'm building 7.25inch track to add to my route. Ive seen the dev docs which is how I got the main track working. Wanted to get the sleepers working before I moved on to the points. As its only a small oval I could manually add the sleepers but I wanted to try and do it properly for the experience and knowledge.

I will have a look at the files you mentioned however unless they have the source files I'm not sure they will be of much use.

Regards

Andy
gougha
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 72
Images: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:24 am
Location: Rotherham
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby eyore » Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:46 pm

I haven't modeled any track, so I can't speak from experience, but I have often had a problem with lofts in Train Sim inverting the normals.

Don't know if there is a resolution for your problem but when in doubt - cheat - make the texture double sided and problem disappears.
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 106
Images: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby GT46PAC » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:25 pm

GT46PAC
General Shed Duties
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:10 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby Auscgu » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:26 am

http://forums.uktrainsim.com/viewtopic. ... e#p1239920
The second part to the trackcap issue and a solution

Worth having a read of Normans other posts
I keep forgetting to search the older railworks as there are some great threads

Look forward to giving this a whirl myself
Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 49
Images: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby SteveP_trains » Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:53 am

3D sleepers are usually no problem and I have used them extensively.
I use 3DCanvas so can't comment on Blender etc. but in Canvas, I just make the sleeper as a rectangular object and position origin at top of rail head and then adjust object position as required.
I delete the face below as well
SteveP_trains
General Shed Duties
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: 3d Sleepers

Postby gougha » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:53 pm

SteveP_trains wrote:3D sleepers are usually no problem and I have used them extensively.
I use 3DCanvas so can't comment on Blender etc. but in Canvas, I just make the sleeper as a rectangular object and position origin at top of rail head and then adjust object position as required.
I delete the face below as well



Hi.

Thanks for all the responses.

I have no idea what was going on with the sleepers. I remade them in blender and then exported them from the BRIAGE exporter in Blender and all seems to work fine now. I have used 3dCanvas for everything in the past. No idea why it was causing problems this time.

Now for my next problem.

I have the track and the sleepers and I have also made the cross section cap which works as expected except I cant see how to gauge it. If I make the Rail width -1.240 then the gauge looks right but then none of the other stuff shows up. Ie check rails etc. I assume that the Rail Width is the actual with of a single rail not the gauge. Am I missing something?

4469
gougha
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 72
Images: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:24 am
Location: Rotherham
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: 3d Track

Postby Auscgu » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:02 am

Gauge is a postive number and for 4' 8 1/2" = 1.435m
Your track is 7 1/4" = 0.1842

Might be as you using a negative number the rails are moving in the wrong direction?

One step closer

Cheers Aus
Auscgu
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 49
Images: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: 3d Track

Postby GT46PAC » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:17 am

If you look aat some bin files of existing route tracks, you can find many answers.
GT46PAC
General Shed Duties
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:10 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Next

Return to 3D Objects General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests