Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Sun Jul 07, 2019 2:32 pm

Hi everyone I've been spending just over 2 and half hours trying to get my simple loft into train sim 2019 and having no joy at all I've followed tutorials from other forums and no luck it just keeps appearing invisible? Could anybody take a look at my model and see what the issue is, I bet it is something simple I've missed as usual, if anybody can help I would be very grateful.
Cheers, Ian.
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby JamesLit » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:19 pm

Are you using the correct loft shaders on your model rather than generic ones?
The Forge | Like us on Facebook!
Manager | Content built with care, not compromises.
User avatar
JamesLit
Driver
 
Posts: 366
Images: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:26 pm
Location: Kent
Has thanked: 433 times
Been thanked: 141 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:09 pm

I've been using LoftTexDiff.fx, here is an image of my model and the axis is 0-0-0 as suggested in the tutorials. I built a bridge railing, any advice?
Cheers, Ian.
Attachments
loft model.jpg
Bridge railing loft
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby eyore » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:44 am

It looks like you have your pivot in the wrong place.

Should look similar to this :-

Image
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 128
Images: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:19 am

Arh I see that is probably why then, I'll give this a shot and see if it goes in and I'll get back to you, thanks.
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:45 pm

Right done the amendments but still invisible in gameplay. Here are my screens of my model correctly placed and also my blueprint file. Can you see if anything is a miss, cheers.
Making me wonder if I have created the right blueprint, should I of done a Procedural shape blueprint instead of a Loft section blueprint?
Attachments
blueprint editor display.jpg
Blueprint editor
loft model.jpg
model
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby AndiS » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:06 pm

Maybe put the same reference to the shape under Start Geometry that you have for Middle and End?
Just a guess.
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 261 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby eyore » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:22 pm

I think you are trying to make a loft with a scenery object, which won't work.

You need to create a loft (usually invisible for this purpose) then add the scenery objects as end/middle geometry. Read the developers manual section on lofting viaducts which should help.
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 128
Images: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 4:52 pm

Ok thanks for the info I'll give that ago then.
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Serious help on creating a simple loft.

Postby Class1987 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:51 pm

How is an invisible loft created? It doesn't specify it on the developers guide. Does anybody know of any step by step tutorials of creating a lofted asset (procedural loft) for like railings? As the developer documents don't really show you how to do it. I have had a look at the 3ds max tutorials but they don't seem to be the correct source I'm after.
Cheers, Ian.
Class1987
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Next

Return to 3D Objects General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest