Pausing exterior animation

Pausing exterior animation

Postby eyore » Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:51 am

I am working on a model of the Craven crane at KWVR and have got the model in game.

4534

I have started animating the model and have an issue with the animations. The jib is set up as an exterior animation and I have created an input mapper to control the animation so key K will raise the jib and L will the lower it, however I can't pause the raise/lower in mid animation. Have tried various combinations of anim style and key input, without success.

So, is it possible to pause an animation using the blueprint entries and I am just having a senior moment, or will it have to be script controlled?
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 132
Images: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Pausing exterior animation

Postby Auscgu » Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:33 am

Phil,
Have you had a play with the IHH cranes.
They have the controls that your looking for.
Unfortunate the details are in the .out files but the .bins do show some details.

Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 60
Images: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Pausing exterior animation

Postby AndiS » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:13 pm

There is this Update function where you inch forward the animation by parameter time, typically. (You can name the parameter of the Update function anything, but people stick to calling it time, which simplifies matters.)

So if you just don't do that in system call (AddTime, I believe, seems to come in pairs with Reset), then the animation will pause in mid air.

As always, this is extrapolation from signalling, but from what I saw, the vehicle animation is just the same as any signal animation.
AndiS
Top Link Driver!
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 304 times

Re: Pausing exterior animation

Postby eyore » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:19 am

Auscgu wrote:Have you had a play with the IHH cranes.


Had a look at these and the steamcrane seems to have the same issue as mine but the diesel animates how I would like mine to.

The difference seems to be the streamcrane has the animations described as exterior and the diesel crane as Interior (Cab) with interior lever controls. The diesel version appears to require a cabview with additional animations but haven't cracked quite what is going on as yet!
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 132
Images: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Pausing exterior animation

Postby Auscgu » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:59 am

Phil
There was a thread for the 14xx cab controls on UKtrainsim.
Search
Improvements to GWR 14xx steam loco

This uses 4 button control for some of the loco controls.
Code: Select all
            <iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry d:id="59843">
               <State d:type="sInt32">0</State>
               <Device d:type="cDeltaString">Keyboard</Device>
               <ButtonState d:type="cDeltaString">ButtonDown</ButtonState>
               <Button d:type="cDeltaString">Key_I</Button>
               <ShiftButton d:type="cDeltaString">NoShift</ShiftButton>
               <Axis d:type="cDeltaString">NoAxis</Axis>
               <Name d:type="cDeltaString">IncreaseControlStart</Name>
               <Parameter d:type="cDeltaString">ExhaustInjectorSteamLever</Parameter>
               <NewState d:type="sInt32">0</NewState>
            </iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry>
            <iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry d:id="59846">
               <State d:type="sInt32">0</State>
               <Device d:type="cDeltaString">Keyboard</Device>
               <ButtonState d:type="cDeltaString">ButtonUp</ButtonState>
               <Button d:type="cDeltaString">Key_I</Button>
               <ShiftButton d:type="cDeltaString">NoShift</ShiftButton>
               <Axis d:type="cDeltaString">NoAxis</Axis>
               <Name d:type="cDeltaString">IncreaseControlStop</Name>
               <Parameter d:type="cDeltaString">ExhaustInjectorSteamLever</Parameter>
               <NewState d:type="sInt32">0</NewState>
            </iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry>
            <iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry d:id="59849">
               <State d:type="sInt32">0</State>
               <Device d:type="cDeltaString">Keyboard</Device>
               <ButtonState d:type="cDeltaString">ButtonDown</ButtonState>
               <Button d:type="cDeltaString">Key_I</Button>
               <ShiftButton d:type="cDeltaString">Shift</ShiftButton>
               <Axis d:type="cDeltaString">NoAxis</Axis>
               <Name d:type="cDeltaString">DecreaseControlStart</Name>
               <Parameter d:type="cDeltaString">ExhaustInjectorSteamLever</Parameter>
               <NewState d:type="sInt32">0</NewState>
            </iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry>
            <iInputMapper-cInputMapEntry d:id="59851">
               <State d:type="sInt32">0</State>
               <Device d:type="cDeltaString">Keyboard</Device>
               <ButtonState d:type="cDeltaString">ButtonUp</ButtonState>
               <Button d:type="cDeltaString">Key_I</Button>
               <ShiftButton d:type="cDeltaString">Shift</ShiftButton>
               <Axis d:type="cDeltaString">NoAxis</Axis>
               <Name d:type="cDeltaString">DecreaseControlStop</Name>
               <Parameter d:type="cDeltaString">ExhaustInjectorSteamLever</Parameter>
               <NewState d:type="sInt32">0</NewState

In the code shown you use the I key to start and stop the control by using the same button.
One to start and once to stop. For the closing of the valve you use the Shift I key in the same format.
This loco is a Victoryworks loco which had 2 button control for this valve. Changing to a 4 button input has allowed you to open or close the valve partially. This is what your looking for for the crane.
Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Full Time Fireman
 
Posts: 60
Images: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Pausing exterior animation

Postby eyore » Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:36 am

Thanks for the help.
Currently dealing with a family emergency so this will have to go on the back burner for a while.
Phil

Image
User avatar
eyore
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 132
Images: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 pm
Location: Lake District
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 66 times


Return to Rolling Stock General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest