Adding a loco lights

Adding a loco lights

Postby brysonman46 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:01 pm

I have been tasked with bringing the Bacup Branch to the public, and am getting on quite well with it. However, we do have a loco that was built by the originator of the route - Peter Holton - that does not seem to have lights (or if it has, we cannot access them). Could i request some assistance on this. All files can be passed over.

best regards

Nick
brysonman46
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 151
Images: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:38 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Adding a loco lights

Postby GT46PAC » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:21 pm

Lights are attached with locomotive as a child object.
If you have source file, you can add a light by location the coordinates through 3D programme otherwise getting precise coordinates of lights would be a challenge.
GT46PAC
General Shed Duties
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:10 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Adding a loco lights

Postby brysonman46 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:43 pm

GT46PAC wrote:Lights are attached with locomotive as a child object.
If you have source file, you can add a light by location the coordinates through 3D programme otherwise getting precise coordinates of lights would be a challenge.


Unfortunately we do not have the source file, otherwise Gordon could have done it without any bother. It is beginning to look like we will have to release the loco without lights! A pity, since it was the mainstay of the line during the 30s and 40s
brysonman46
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 151
Images: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:38 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Adding a loco lights

Postby Auscgu » Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:47 am

brysonman46
This is the addon for vehicle lights as a child object for the IoW route
UKTS_32151_Rear_Lamps
Down load and have a look at the .bin files you can see the lights positioned
This work for rolling stock
You may need to adapt to anew light but look at how its done

I have seen a similar kit for locomotives
Give me some time and I will dig it out

Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 49
Images: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Adding a loco lights

Postby Auscgu » Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:16 am

brysonman46
Both the following loco lights are added with muiltiple.bin files for each lamp code
The simple approach and will work

UKTS_20067_Oillamps_drb is an older download and would be best to just look at the approach

UKTS_37562_DT_B12_BR_lined_Headcodes_Pack is 07/01/2018 asset

This could be used for the lamps and method as it is current
If the lamps can be added as child object in the .bin file that the coding should possible to control the lamps
Bit beyond my ability at this time but worth pursuing to have the lamps controlled in the scenario
This is the best approach as you don't have the source files

Cheers Ausc
Auscgu
Fit for Firing Duties
 
Posts: 49
Images: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:04 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Adding a loco lights

Postby brysonman46 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:06 pm

Thanks, Ausc

I will pass this on to Gordon, as he will have a greater understanding of it

regards

Nick
brysonman46
Passed Fireman
 
Posts: 151
Images: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:38 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 28 times


Return to Rolling Stock General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron